Thursday, May 31, 2012

"The Good Journey," by Micaela Gilchrist

"The Good Journey," by Micaela Gilchrist



Inspired by actual letters, The Good Journey breathes life into history with a richly imagined chronicle of twenty tumultuous years in the marriage of two American pioneers.


Strong-willed Southern belle Mary Bullitt abandons her life of luxury in Louisville, Kentucky, when she marries General Henry Atkinson and accompanies him to his outpost on the Mississippi. Nothing has prepared her for marriage to this attractive older man -- or for the realities of frontier living. Conditions are primitive, Mary knows virtually nothing about her husband, and the threat of attack from Indians is constant. A rough and resourceful general, Henry is engaged in a long and historic clash with a great Native American leader, and his deeply conflicted feelings about Indians mirror those he and his wife have for each other.


In the tradition of Willa Cather and Edna Ferber, Micaela Gilchrist has crafted an exciting novel that is at once a love story and an action-packed depiction of the struggle for the West.


Their are many facets to this book and due to that this book will appeal to a number of people.


If you're interested in the history of the early 1800's in America this book is full of that.  The history of what happened to the Native Americans during this period is something everyone should know about.


The romance section of this book is not a huge feature but it is there all along intertwined within this story.  The mystery side of this book kind of took me by surprise and I wonder if you'll figure out the connection of one incident to another, I know I didn't.


It also shows you how it is easy to jump to conclusions and it can cause pain and jealousy when it needn't have.  


The characters in this book were all believable and you can't help love Mary's spirit and determination.


Stars out of 5 : 4 well worth the read, just found the military side of the book a little wordy.

10 comments:

  1. Gill:

    I will enjoy following your book reviews. It has been great getting to know you from your blog. It is wearying always having to post. I'm glad that you gave it up when it got to be too much.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Sounds like a good read, Gill! :)

    On a completely unrelated note, I'm going to miss your "regular" blog but will be watching this one for your blog posts. Hope all is well!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Will miss your other blog. It'll be nice to read your reviews. Wishing you well.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Thanks for letting us know about your book review blog. I feel so sad that you have closed down your other blog. I loved reading about your life. Take care of yourself my friend.

    hugs, Kaye

    ReplyDelete
  5. Hi Gil,

    Was this one of our regular books? I don't remember seeing it listed and you don't have the publisher end blurb, so didn't know. Have you received info for the June set of books yet? I haven't.

    ReplyDelete
  6. The military side of books always get "too wordy" for me. I started one called "The Hero of Rome". I wanted the story and after 30 odd pages of describing the legionaires training programme I gave up.

    It was supposed to be about Bodicea and after several chapters all I knew was I was giving up.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Thanks for the link to your new blog, Gill. I have enjoyed reading your writing since you started your other blog and was sorry to see that you stopped posting. I will be looking forward to reading your new posts on this blog.

    ReplyDelete
  8. glad I found your new blog!

    ReplyDelete
  9. This is definitely my type of book...

    ReplyDelete

I'd love to read your thoughts..........