Thursday, August 10, 2017

"The Two Of Us," by Victoria Bylin

"The Two Of Us," by Victoria Bylin
After two broken engagements, Mia Robinson is done with dating. From now on, she's focusing on God and her goal to join an international aid organization as a nurse practitioner. But when her 18-year-old sister, Lucy, calls with an invitation to her Vegas wedding, it throws a wrench into Mia's plans.

Jake Tanner has recovered from the injuries he sustained as a police officer--on the outside. Inside, he's yet to heal from losing his partner in the tragedy, but finds some solace in keeping an eye on her young adult son, Sam, who's asked him to be best man at his wedding.

Mia expects a mess when she arrives to sort out the situation with Lucy, but she wasn't expecting Jake, who views the marriage a little differently. As Jake's and Mia's lives slowly become more intertwined, could his courage and her caring heart be enough to bring them a lifetime of healing?


This book was a very pleasant read, that kept me busy over a couple of afternoons.  I will say I had forgotten what the story was about, as I had read it a week prior to writing this review, so it didn't stick in my mind until I read the back cover again.

This is one of my "shopping list" books that I can read and think of other things while I am reading, as it's not overly taxing on the brain.

Stars out of 5 : 3  If you are looking for a book to read on the beach or by the fire, this is a great book for that.  Glad I read it.  Learned a couple of things about Alzheimer's which was a positive thing.  Also make sure you read the author's notes at the end of the book, very moving.

"Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. 

Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group
".

"The Return," by Suzanne Woods Fisher

"The Return," by Suzanne Woods Fisher
Beautiful and winsome, Betsy Zook never questioned her family's rigid expectations, nor those of devoted Hans--but then she never had to. Not until the night she's taken captive in a surprise Indian raid. Facing brutality and hardship, Betsy finds herself torn between her pious upbringing and the feelings she's developing for a native man who encourages her to see God in all circumstances.

Greatly anguished by Betsy's captivity, Hans turns to Tessa Bauer for comfort. She responds eagerly, overlooking troubling signs of Hans's hunger for revenge. But if Betsy is ever restored to the Amish, will things between Hans and Tessa have gone too far?

Inspired by true events, this deeply layered novel gives a glimpse into the tumultuous days of prerevolutionary Pennsylvania through the eyes of two young, determined, and faith-filled women.


This is the third book in the Amish Beginnings Series.  I have read the first book in the series and thoroughly enjoyed it, but haven't read the second book.  I enjoyed this book at the time, but I will say I have forgotten much of the story already.  

I did enjoy the history aspect of this story, as there are a few things mentioned in this book that did happen in real life.  I did feel it ended a bit strangely and do feel there is more to be told in this story/series.  Not sure if that will happen or not?  

Stars out of 5 : 4 It was a good book to read over a few afternoons and it wasn't too hard a read.  As always read the authors notes at the end as they are interesting.  

"Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc.

Available at your favourite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group".


"Fault Lines," by Thomas Locke

"Fault Lines," by Thomas Locke
There isn't much that can throw Charlie Hazard off balance. But the mystery woman with the striking eyes and the intense request to follow her--now--is about to shake his world. Knowing little more than her name, Charlie leaves his post as a guard at the Satellite Beach community center for what he thinks is just another risk-containment job. But Gabriella, an experimental psychologist, has far more in store for him than protection duty--if the two of them survive the test.

Reese Clawson relishes her work at the Combine and all the perks and power that come with it--including the ability to manipulate perceptions. But the Combine never anticipated this mind-shifting technology. If Gabriella's experiments succeed, the Combine would be destroyed. And Reese will never allow that to happen.


The sign of a good book in my humble opinion, is when you can't stop thinking about the book, both during and after reading it.  It's a page turner and a book that you don't want to put down, as you need to know what happens next.  This book is all that and more.  

I kept going over and over the story to try and figure out what was going to happen next, and why this was happening and that was happening.  I was also amazed at the authors imagination and kept thinking, "how on earth did he come up with this and that?"

The story is so fast paced that you struggle to keep up with it at some stages.  My only negative about this book was that it was a little too technical in places.

Stars out of 5 : 5 it really is well worth reading, as this book keeps you on your toes and keeps you interested all the way through it.  Can't wait for the next one to come out; there is a preview at the end of this book and it sounds as though it will be as good as this one.

"Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc.

Available at your favourite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group".

Wednesday, July 19, 2017

"High as the Heavens," by Kate Breslin

"High as the Heavens," by Kate Breslin

A British nurse in WWI German-occupied Brussels, Evelyn Marche spends her days at the hospital and her nights working at a café . . . or so it seems. Eve's most carefully guarded secret is that she also spends her nights carrying out dangerous missions as a spy for a Belgian resistance group.

When a plane crashes as she's en route to a rendezvous, Eve is the first to reach the downed plane and is shocked to recognize the badly injured pilot as British RFC Captain Simon Forrester. She risks her life to conceal him from the Germans, but as the secrets between them grow and the danger mounts, can they still hope to make it out of Belgium alive?

Normally I am not a fan of books set in the first and second world war, but have to say this book was very interesting, both from a historical sense and as a story in itself.  The story moves along at a fast pace and you have to keep up with it.  I learned a lot about spies and the underground network that I previously didn't know.  Once again the author's notes at the end fills in a number of questions you may have and as with many good books, this story includes both fact and fiction in it.

The love story between Eve and Simon is so interesting as well and what they went through throughout this book shows how much love can make you hold on to whats important.  There were many brave people in this book that risked their lives to help others.

Stars out of 5 :5 A really good book with plenty going on in it to keep you interested.  It's also educational, as I learned a thing or two from it.  I look forward to reading more books by Kate.

"Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. 

Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group
".

"Heart On The Line," by Karen Witemeyer

"Heart On The Line," by Karen Witemeyer

Grace Mallory is tired of hiding. She hungers for a normal life, perhaps even a suitor like two of her friends in Harper's Station have found. But when the man she believes responsible for her father's death discovers her whereabouts, survival takes priority.

Amos Bledsoe prefers bicycles to horses and private conversations over the telegraph wire to social gatherings with young ladies who see him as nothing more than an oddity. His fellow telegrapher, the mysterious Miss G, has been the ideal companion. For months, their friendship--dare he believe, courtship?--over the wire has fed his hope that he has finally found the woman God intends for him. However, when he intercepts an ominous message and discovers her life is in peril, Amos must shed the cocoon of his quiet nature to become the hero Grace requires.

I must say I am a big fan of Karen's and love the way she writes.  This is another book set in Harper's Station and is as full of mystery, action and suspense as the other books set there.  The chemistry between Grace and Amos is great and I love the way they can communicate without other's knowing what they are saying.

However this story was lacking in something and I can't put my finger on what?  I actually found the other side story with Helen as interesting.  Again you will have to read the book to see what that is all about.  

Stars out of 5 : 3 A nice book and one you can read and not get confused over.  It was one of my "shopping list," books where you can read it and think of other things at the same time.  I probably won't remember it though in a month's time.  This was not one of Karen's best books.

"Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. 

Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group
".

"Under a Summer Sky," by Melody Carlson

"Under a Summer Sky," by Melody Carlson

High school art teacher Nicole Anderson is looking forward to a relaxing summer in Savannah, house-sitting and managing an art gallery for a family friend. The house is luxurious in a way that only old money could make it, and the gallery promises interesting days in a gorgeous setting. Yet it isn't long before her ideal summer turns into more than she bargained for: a snooty gallery employee who's determined to force her out, a displaced adolescent roosting in the attic, and two of her childhood friends--who also happen to be brothers--vying for her attention.

With the backdrop of a gorgeous historical city, incredible architecture, and even an alleged ghost or two, combined with the opportunity for romance . . . anything can happen!

This is the third book in the "Follow Your Heart" series and I thoroughly enjoyed this book and all the characters in it.  One thing this book made me want to do was visit Savannah; the way the author describes Savannah makes the city come alive.  This is one of those books which is perfect to wile away a few hours on the beach.  There are no huge mysteries in it and it moves along at a steady pace.  I have to say one of my favourite characters was Amyra; you'll have to read the book to see who she is...LOL

Stars out of 5 : 4 The description of Savannah and all the architecture made this book come alive for me.  However I don't think this will be a book I will remember in a month or two.  As I said before a perfect beach read and a book I enjoyed while reading it.

"Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc.

Available at your favourite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group".

"On Love's Gentle Shore," by Liz Johnson

"On Love's Gentle Shore," by Liz Johnson

Natalie O'Ryan had no plans to return to Prince Edward Island. But when her fiancé books their wedding in her hometown and schedules a summer at Rose's Red Door Inn, she sets out to plan the perfect wedding. Yet she can't possibly plan for a run-in with Justin Kane--the best friend she left behind all those years ago after promising to stay.

Justin has never forgotten Natalie. He'd been prepared to follow her off the island until tragedy struck, leaving him to run the family dairy farm. He's done the best he can with the life that was thrust upon him--but with Natalie back in the picture, he begins to realize just how much joy he's been missing.

After Natalie's reception venue falls through, she must scramble to find an alternative, and the only option seems to be a barn on Justin's property. As they work together to get the dilapidated building ready for the party, Natalie and Justin may discover that there is more between them than broken promises and an old friendship.


This is the third book in the "Prince Edward Island Dreams" series and what a lovely book it is.  I loved the way the tension between Natalie and Justin was portrayed, you could feel the static in the air while you were reading the story.  You felt as though you were right in the room with them.

There is no mystery what the out come will be to my mind, but there are mini mysteries entwined in the book that keep things interesting.  This to my mind this is a perfect beach read, as the story is not hard to follow.  It made me want to stay at Rose's Red Door Inn and sample some of Caden's food.

Stars out of 5 : 4, a solid 4 as well as it has a bit of everything in it; romance, mystery, confusion, great location and gorgeous sounding food!!  Great series of books, well worth reading.

"Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc.

Available at your favourite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group".

"A Name Unknown," by Roseanna M. White

"A Name Unknown," by Roseanna M. White
Rosemary Gresham has no family beyond the band of former urchins who helped her survive as a girl in the mean streets of London. Grown now, they are no longer pickpockets--instead they focus on high value items and have learned how to blend into upper-class society. Rosemary is beginning to question whether she can continue in this life when she's offered the challenge of a lifetime--determine whether a certain wealthy gentleman is loyal to Britain or to Germany. After all how does one steal a family's history, their very name?

As Europe moves ever closer to World War I, rumors swirl around Peter Holstein. Awkward and solitary, but with access to the king, many fear his influence. But Peter can't help his German last name and wants to prove his loyalty to the Crown--so he can go back to anonymously writing a series of popular adventure novels. When Rosemary arrives on his doorstep pretending to be a well-credentialed historian, Peter believes she's the right person to help him dig through his family's past.

When danger and suspicion continue to mount, both realize they're in a race against time to discover the truth--about Peter's past and about the undeniable attraction kindling between them.


This is the first book in the "Shadows Over England" series and what a good start to the series.  The background story of the main characters is very interesting and they keep you on your toes.  This book made you think and it's one of those books where you have to pay attention to what is happening to keep up with the story.

I admit to getting a bit lost at first, as something else in going on in a "sub-plot," and without giving it away, it will all make sense.  You must read the authors notes at the end of the book, they are very interesting and she tells you more about the reason for adding things to the story.  I have to say I love the authors imagination and how she put together this story.

Stars out of 5 : 4 1/2  The only reason I didn't give it a 5 was that I did get a bit lost with what was going on at one point, but did get back on course a few pages later.  This book does grab your attention and I am really looking forward to the next one in the series as I am guessing it will be just as interesting.  This is a must read, as you too will wonder how on earth she thought up this story.


"Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. 

Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group
".

Monday, June 5, 2017

"The Captain's Daughter," by Jennifer Delamere

"The Captain's Daughter," by Jennifer Delamere
When a series of circumstances beyond her control leaves Rosalyn Bernay alone and penniless in London, she chances upon a job backstage at a theater putting on the most popular show in the city. A talented musician and singer, she feels immediately at home and soon becomes enthralled with the idea of pursuing a career on the stage. That is, as long as the shadows from her past don't catch up with her.

After a hand injury forces Nate Moran from his army regiment in India, he returns home to London, a place that holds bitter memories. He agrees to fill in temporarily as a stagehand while his brother recuperates from a broken leg, but Nate is counting down the days until he can rejoin his regiment. His future is decided--until he meets a beautiful woman who has found a new lease on life in the very place Nate yearns to leave behind.


This is the first book in the series "London Beginning."  It was okay, which isn't a great thing, I'm sorry.  I found the story a bit lack lustre.  I did learn something about theatre, but otherwise, I thought the story was lacking depth.  Without giving the story away, I did expect more twists and turns in the "mystery" part of the plot.  It was no surprise the outcome.

As there are three sisters, I am assuming the next book would be about one of the other sisters, and as each one has a different occupation, maybe the next book will be more interesting?

Stars out of 5 : 3 This book was a pleasant read over a couple of afternoons.  Ask me in a month or so time what it was about, I probably won'r remember.

"Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. 

Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group
".

"With You Always," by Jody Hedlund

"With You Always," by Jody Hedlund
One of the many immigrants struggling to survive in 1850s New York, Elise Neumann knows she must take action to care for her younger sisters. She finds a glimmer of hope when the New York Children's Aid Society starts sending skilled workers to burgeoning towns out west. But the promise of the society's orphan trains is not all that it seems.

Born into elite New York society, Thornton Quincy possesses everything except the ability to step out from his brother's shadow. When their ailing father puts forth a unique challenge to determine who will inherit his railroad-building empire, Thornton finally sees his chance. The conditions to win? Be the first to build a sustainable community along the Illinois Central Railroad and find a suitable wife.

Thrown together against all odds, Elise and Thornton couldn't be from more different worlds. The spark that ignites between them is undeniable, but how can they let it grow when that means forfeiting everything they've been working toward?


Prior to reading this book I had heard of the Orphan Trains, this book deals with adults (women) being on them as well, which was a twist.  The author's notes sheds light on this aspect of history which is interesting.

This story does have true stories twisted into it along with fiction and it makes for an interesting read.  Add a bit of mystery and it keeps you wanting more.  I did not figure out the "who-dun-it" part of the story until just before it was revealed.

Stars out of 5 : 4   I would be interested in reading more books from this series, when they are released as the author writes:

" Throughout this series I'll be focusing each book on a different aspect of the Orphan Train movement, particularly from the perspectives of women,"

I think there will be a lot to be learned from reading these books in this series.

"Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. 

Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group
".

Friday, May 5, 2017

"The Ebb Tide," by Beverly Lewis

"The Ebb Tide," by Beverly Lewis
Sallie Riehl has dreamed of traveling at least once before settling down to join church, so she is thrilled at an unexpected summer opportunity to nanny in Cape May for a well-to-do family. However, saying even a temporary good-bye to Paradise Township means forgoing baptism another year, as well as leaving behind a would-be beau. Yet the weeks in Cape May soon prove unforgettable as Sallie meets a Mennonite young man whose friendship she quickly begins to cherish. Has she been too hasty with her promises, or will she only find what her heart is longing for back home?

Once upon a time, I loved reading books about Amish and Mennonite people; and read stories with them in none stop.  I then got totally fed up with the same old story lines, so didn't read any for a few years.  I have read many of Beverly Lewis' books over the years, so thought I would give this one a try and I was pleasantly surprised at how much I enjoyed it.

I guess what made this one so different was that although Sallie was Amish, she had hopes and dreams that were not centred around her day to day Amish life.  I don't ever remember reading a book about an Amish woman wanting to travel the world?  Also what made this story so different is was set at the sea side in a real place called Cape May; a place I had never heard of before reading this book.

There was enough detail in this book on various topics away from the Amish culture that it would appeal to a number of people, not just people interested in the Amish.

Stars out of 5 : 4.5 Really enjoyed it.  Enjoyed the authors notes.  Learned something new about various marine life species and the book's lead characters lives were interesting.  Well worth the read.

"Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. 

Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group
".

"The Chapel Car Bride," by Judith Miller

"The Chapel Car Bride," by Judith Miller
After a sheltered life in Pittsburgh, Hope Irvine is ready for a new adventure. When her father takes a position as a preacher in a railroad car converted into a traveling church, she's thrilled at the chance to accompany him. While accommodations in their new chapel car home are tight, Hope couldn't be happier putting her musical skills to good use and ministering to the people of West Virginia alongside her father. But when their chapel car arrives in Finch, West Virginia, they find a coal mining community that has hit hard times and is suspicious of outsiders.

Luke Hughes works for the coal mine when he can, but the struggling company doesn't always offer steady work. When Reverend Irvine and Hope arrive in town, Luke is intrigued by what the reverend can teach him--and by the lovely and kind Hope.

When Hope's desire to bring supplies and Sunday school classes to neighboring counties leads to her traveling with a flirtatious young mine manager, Luke is hard-pressed to suppress his jealousy. But when he begins to suspect the manager's motives are less than charitable, can he prove it without hurting Hope, or worse, putting her in danger?


This was one of those books that touched on a number of subjects, all equally as interesting to me.  I had never heard of Railroad Chapel Cars, so this was something new for me.  If you would like to read more about them, here is a link.  I found the details about the "hill country" people also interesting, and how hard their lives were made you stop and think.

The main story of Hope and Luke was lovely and made good lead characters.  Their hearts were in the right places for doing both God's work and serving others. Add a "villain," and the plot becomes more interesting.

Stars out of 5 : 4.5 I knocked off half a star as I had hoped that Judith would have added some author's notes to the back of the book, about how this book came about?  Overall though, I loved the book, Judith is a great storyteller and this book flowed along seamlessly.  Being a fan of Judith's writing already I knew I would be reading an interesting book.  Really well worth the read.

"Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. 

Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group
".

Wednesday, April 26, 2017

"To the Farthest Shores," by Elizabeth Camden

"To the Farthest Shores," by Elizabeth Camden


The unpredictability of her upbringing prepared army nurse Jenny Bennett to face any challenge at the Presidio Army base, but the sudden reappearance in her life of the dashing naval officer who broke her heart six years ago is enough to rattle even her.

Lieutenant Ryan Gallagher is one of the few men in the world qualified to carry out a daring government mission overseas--an assignment that destroyed his reputation and broke the heart of the only woman he ever loved. Honor-bound never to reveal where he was during those years, he can't tell Jenny the truth, or it will endanger an ongoing mission and put thousands of lives at risk.

Ryan thinks he may have finally found a solution to his impossible situation, but he needs Jenny's help. While her loyalty to her country compels her to agree, she was too badly hurt to fall for Ryan again despite his determination to win her back. When an unknown threat from Ryan's past puts everything at risk--including his life--can they overcome the seemingly insurmountable odds stacked against them in time?


This was an interesting book covering an array of topics, including Japan, pearls, spies, nursing and a number of other subjects, all which I knew little about.  This book was full of twists and turns and kept you on your toes and thinking.

I like a book where you can learn something new, while you are reading a story.  I didn't know the history of cultured pearls and had never heard of the MID.  Even the little facts like Jenny working night shift and how she just wanted to get enough sleep all added depth to this book.

Stars out of 5 : 4.5  Well worth the read.  Such a lot of interesting information packed into this book. The final outcome won't be a shocker.  I do feel a follow up book about Finn would be a great read as well, as there is a story to tell there.  Great book Elizabeth!


"Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. 

Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group
".

Thursday, April 13, 2017

"Treasured Grace," by Tracie Peterson

"Treasured Grace," by Tracie Peterson
Grace Martindale has known more than her share of hardship. After her parents died, raising her two younger sisters, Hope and Mercy, became her responsibility. A hasty decision to head west seemed like an opportunity for a fresh start but has instead left Grace in a precarious position. When missionary Dr. Marcus Whitman and his wife agree to let Grace and her sisters stay at their mission for the winter, Grace is grateful. Until they hear from their uncle in Oregon City, the three sisters have nowhere else to go.

As Grace adjusts to life in the West, she meets a fur trapper named Alex Armistead who intrigues and infuriates her in equal measure. But when a measles outbreak threatens lives at the mission and among the native Cayuse who live nearby, it is Alex who helps Grace use the natural healing remedies she learned from her mother to help where she can, despite Dr. Whitman's disapproval. As the death toll rises, so do tensions between the settlers and the natives, and Grace soon finds herself and those she loves in more danger than she imagined possible.


This is the first book in the "Heart of the Frontier," series and what an interesting book it was.  It is a fiction book which is centred around The Whitman Mission Massacre of November 1847.  I am familiar with that, so to have a fiction book which was written about that kept me very interested and wanting more.  

The hardship they all went through just to get to the mission and then to be attacked was so sad.  However what happened after was as interesting as the actual massacre.  The way Tracie wrote about it made it all come to life more and was well written.  This first book centres around Grace, the next will be about Hope and the third about Mercy.  I MUST read all three as the story carries on from one to another.  There is much more to this book that will keep you interested

Stars out of 5 : 5 I loved this book.  Tracie tells a great story and makes the characters of her books feel so real.  The added tidbits of information she includes; like Grace's natural healing remedies just add another layer to an already wonderful story.  If you are at all interested in a historical story with a bit of romance thrown in, this is a book for you.  Well done Tracie.

"Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. 

Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group
".

A Stolen Heart by Amanda Cabot

"A Stolen Heart" by Amanda Cabot
From afar, Cimarron Creek seems like an idyllic town tucked in the Texas Hill Country. But when former schoolteacher Lydia Crawford steps onto its dusty streets in 1880, she finds a town with a deep-seated resentment of Northerners--like her. Lydia won't let that get her down, though. All will be well when she's reunited with her fiancé.

But when she discovers he has disappeared--and that he left behind a pregnant wife--Lydia is at a loss about what to do next. The handsome sheriff urges her to trust him, but can she trust anyone in this town where secrets are as prevalent as bluebonnets in spring?

Bestselling author Amanda Cabot invites you into Texas's storied past to experience adventure, mystery--and love.


This is the first book in the "Cimarron Creek Trilogy," and was very enjoyable.  It was a mystery story first and a love story second to my mind.  You will guess "who-dun-it," so no surprise there, but the story has plenty of twists and turns in it, to keep you interested.

If I were being picky the fact that a town of under 200 people could keep a sweet shop in business, was a bit far fetched to my mind, but still very interesting to hear about what sweets/candy they liked to eat.  What would have made this book perfect would have been recipes for the different candies included in the book.

Stars out of 5 : 4 It is one of those books that would be perfect to sit and read over a couple of afternoons.  The next book in the Cimarron Creek Trilogy will be available early 2018 and it is a book I will be looking forward to reading.  It's a feel good book that doesn't over tax the brain.  It also made me curious to visit the Texas Hill Country as well.

"Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc.

Available at your favourite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group".

Monday, January 30, 2017

"An Uncommon Courtship," by Kristi Ann Hunter

"An Uncommon Courtship," by Kristi Ann Hunter


Lord Trent Hawthorne couldn't be happier he is not the duke in the family. Free to manage his small estate and take his time discovering the life he wants to lead, he has grand plans of someday wooing and falling in love with the woman of his choice. When he finds himself honor bound to marry a woman he barely knows, his dream of a loving marriage like his parents' seems lost forever.

Life for Lady Adelaide Bell was easier when she hid in her older sister's shadow--which worked until her sister got married. But even with her socially ambitious mother's focus entirely on her, the last thing she expected was a marriage of convenience before she's been introduced to society.

With nothing going as expected, can Trent and Adelaide's marriage of obligation survive their own missteps and the pressures of London society to grow into a true meeting of hearts and minds?


This is another book in the Hawthorne House series and I have to say it's as good as the rest in the series.  This book was another feel good book, where despite themselves you really wanted tor Trent and Adelaide's marriage to work despite their rocky beginning.  

Again it was an eye opener on how the different "classes" of people in Regency London behaved and despite their "better" upbringing the high society were no better than anyone else, with their back stabbing and pettiness.  

I love the historical details and I just wanted to be sitting on the sofa next to Adelaide whenever she met her mother and sister as they were very obnoxious characters you couldn't help but dislike!

Stars out of 5:5 It was an easy read, not a "meaty" read but enough to keep you wanting more.  There is one last book in the series which will be coming out in September of 2017 and it is a must read if you have read any of the other books, as it deals with the oldest son, the Duke.  

"Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. 

Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group
".

"The Mark of the King," by Jocelyn Green

"The Mark of the King," by Jocelyn Green


After the death of her client, midwife Julianne Chevalier is imprisoned and branded, marking her as a criminal beyond redemption. Hoping to reunite with her brother, a soldier, she trades her life sentence for exile to the fledgling French colony of Louisiana. The price of her transport, however, is a forced marriage to a fellow convict.

New Orleans is nothing like Julianne expects. The settlement is steeped in mud and mosquitoes, and there is no news of her brother, Benjamin. When tragedy strikes, she turns to military officer Marc-Paul Girard for help, but does he know more about her brother than he will admit?

With her dreams shattered, Julianne must find her way in this dangerous land, where only grace--and love--can overcome the stigma of the king's mark upon her shoulder.


This book caught my attention right from the first chapter and was a page turner from then on.  It was set in a part of history that I was not familiar with and a place (Louisiana) I do not know much about.  The historical references were fascinating and it made me question their decision to populate that area.

The way the book described life there must have been such hard work for the settlers and I could quite imagine their life expectancy to be not long with the weather, wildlife and battles.  Julianne made a perfect heroine and you were fighting for her all the way.  The story itself kept you on edge and wanting to know more.

Stars out of 5 : 5  I loved this book.  Not only was the book entertaining it was very educational.  I found the way they buried people fascinating.......keep an eye out for that in the book.  It is well worth the read and if you enjoy historical novels this one is for you.


"Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. 

Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group
".

"In the Shadow of Denali," by Tracie Peterson and Kimberley Woodhouse

"In the Shadow of Denali," by Tracie Peterson and Kimberley Woodhouse

Cassidy Ivanoff and her father, John, work at the new and prestigious Curry Hotel near the foot of Mount McKinley--Denali as it's still called by the natives. John is the wilderness and exploration guide for the wealthy tourists while Cassidy works in the kitchen as Cook's assistant. The entire staff buzzes with excitement during the busy days preparing for the President's imminent visit. His historic trip to dedicate the new national park on his way to driving in the golden spike to officially complete the Alaska Railroad will be the beginning of a new era for all of them and place The Curry at the heart of Alaska.

Allan Brennan travels to the Curry Hotel to be an apprentice to the seasoned Alaska mountain guide, with hopes of discovering the truth about his father's death on the mountain years earlier. His father's business partner blames the guide for Henry Brennan's untimely death, but Allan cannot be at peace until he knows for sure. He finds an unlikely ally in Cassidy, and as the two begin to look into the mystery, they suddenly find that things are much less clear, and much more dangerous, than either could ever imagine.


I love all things Alaska, despite the fact I have never been there.  This book taught me a little more about the history of Alaska and the way things were described, made me want to visit the area more.

The story itself was a very nice read.  I did not figure out how someone had died in the book, so that was a mystery right until the end.  The main characters were entertaining and no surprise how things would end.  

This is the first book in The Heart of Alaska Series  It does not say when the next book will be released. 

Stars out of 5 : 3 It was an average feel good book with all the usual, romance, history and mystery thrown in there.  I wouldn't mind reading the next in the series but I won't be rushing out to buy it.  If you have a couple of afternoons free, this would be a pleasant way of spending them reading this book.

"Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. 

Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group
".


Sunday, January 15, 2017

"For The Record," by Regina Jennings

"For The Record," by Regina Jennings
Betsy Huckabee has big-city dreams, but nobody outside of tiny Pine Gap, Missouri, seems interested in the articles she writes for her uncle's newspaper. Her hopes for independence may be crushed, until the best idea she's ever had comes riding into town.

Deputy Joel Puckett didn't want to leave Texas, but unfair circumstances have made moving to Pine Gap his only shot at keeping a badge. Worse, this small town has big problems, and masked marauders have become too comfortable taking justice into their own hands. He needs to make clear that he's the law in this town--and that job is made more difficult with a nosy reporter who seems to follow him everywhere he goes.

The hero Betsy creates to be the star in a serial for the ladies' pages is based on the dashing deputy, but he's definitely fictional. And since the pieces run only in newspapers far away, no one will ever know. But the more time she spends with Deputy Puckett, the more she appreciates the real hero--and the more she realizes what her ambition could cost him.


This is a great book to read over a couple of afternoons.  It's what I call a shopping list book.  You don't have to concentrate to hard to read this book.  The book is full of ups and downs with great leading characters in Betsy and Joel.  You will be able to guess the outcome and the who done it is enough of a mystery to make you read more to see what happens.

Stars out of 5 : 4 No big surprises in this book; but a pleasant read all the same.

"Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. 

Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group
".

Wednesday, January 11, 2017

"Conspiracy of Silence," by Ronie Kendig

"Conspiracy of Silence," by Ronie Kendig
Four years after a tragic mission decimated his team, Cole "Tox" Russell has been disavowed by the United States. And that's fine--he just wants to be left alone. But when a dormant, centuries-old disease is unleashed, Tox is lured back into action.

Tox and his former Special Forces team regroup to work with FBI deception expert, Kasey Cortes, and fiery archaeologist, Tzivia Khalon, to search the globe for answers--and a cure. As the mission leads from one continent to another, it becomes clear they're not just fighting a plague but battling an ancient secret society whose true goals remain hidden.

With time running out and the threat for a global pandemic rising, Tox and his team realize their sole chance might be to reach back through centuries of silence to find the only answer that can save them all.


This is not my normal choice of genre for a book, but I thought I would give it a try.  If you like a fast paced, action filled book, this is the book for you.  I did however think that the story itself was confusing a number of times.  

Reading the Prologue confused me as I was not familiar with that story from the Bible.  Then the following few chapters introduced you to the characters in the book with their back stories.  By the time everything meshed together you are a few chapters into the book, and thoroughly confused!

Once we got into the main story line though, things settled down and the action and intrigue started.  Because of the fast paced story being told you do get swept up in it all and you do need to know what happens next.

Stars out of 5 : 3 Those first few chapters, although essential to the book spoil the book to my mind.  I spent a number of chapters being totally confused and thinking would this really happen in real life?  This is the first book in The Tox Files series, the next one The Crown of Souls, is due out later this year.

"Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. 

Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group
".

Monday, January 9, 2017

"A Moonbow Night," by Laura Frantz

"A Moonbow Night," by Laura Frantz

After fleeing Virginia, Temperance Tucker and her family established an inn along the Shawnee River. It's a welcome way station for settlers and frontiersmen traveling through the wild Cumberland region of Kentucke--men like Sion Morgan, a Virginia surveyor who arrives at the inn with his crew, looking for an experienced guide.

Though he balks when Tempe is appointed to lead his team through the wilderness, it isn't long before Sion must admit that her abilities may outmatch his own. But can the tenuous tie they are forming survive the dangers waiting just around the bend?

With her signature sweeping style and ability to bring the distant past to vivid life, Laura Frantz beckons you to join her in a land of Indian ambushes, conflicting loyalties, and a tentative love that meanders like a cool mountain stream.


This book is set in the 1770's and although you don't need to know the history of that period I do feel if you know some of it; it would help you understand this book more.  I found the start of the book slow to get into, however the more I got into the story the more caught up I was in it.

They were very brave people in those days those settlers.  The mortality rate was awfully high.  They had a very adventurous spirit and a bravery to be admired.  The constant threat of being attacked by the Indians or being hurt on the trails must have been so scary for them all.

Laura did indeed bring to life the people and hard times they went through.  Also it showed you how resilient people had to be.  Tempe and Sion (pronounced SHON) were perfect for one another and although their outcome won't come as a shock the path to get to that happy ending goes through many ups and downs.

Stars out of 5 : 3.5  I will admit to nearly throwing in the towel with this book at the start, but once I got into the book more, I enjoyed it more.  If you like stories from the late 1700's you will enjoy this book.

"Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc.

Available at your favourite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group".

Saturday, January 7, 2017

"The Innkeeper of Ivy Hill," by Julie Klassen

"The Innkeeper of Ivy Hill," by Julie Klassen


The lifeblood of the village of Ivy Hill is its coaching inn, The Bell. When the innkeeper dies suddenly, his genteel wife, Jane Bell, becomes the reluctant landlady. Jane has no idea how to manage a business, but with the town's livelihood at stake and a large loan due, she must quickly find a way to save the inn.

Despite their strained relationship, Jane turns to her resentful mother-in-law, Thora, for help. Formerly mistress of The Bell, Thora is struggling to overcome her losses and find purpose for the future. As she works with Jane, two men from her past vie for her attention, but Thora has promised herself never to marry again. Will one of them convince her to embrace a second chance at love?

As pressure mounts from the bank, Jane employs new methods, and puzzles over the intentions of several men who seem to have a vested interest in the place, including a mysterious newcomer with secret plans of his own. With the help of friends old and new, can Jane restore life to the inn, and to her empty heart as well?


I thoroughly enjoyed this book.  It did take me a couple of chapters to get the feel of the characters,   It is a "meaty" book and has a lot of detail in it.  One thing to look out for is the mention of the Ladies Tea and Knitting Society.  Very interesting "club" and very ahead of its time.

The main character in the book Jane, shows how adaptable people can be when thrown into unfamiliar situations.  This is the first book in the "Tales from Ivy Hill," series and I am looking forward to the next book in the series.  There are many more tales to be told in Ivy Hill.  There is even a web site dedicated to the "village" of Ivy Hill and all the book characters, which you can find here.

Stars out of 5 : 4.5 I really enjoyed this book, looking forward to reading the next in the series.  Read many of Julie's books and this is one of her best written ones.  Well worth the read.

"Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. 

Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group
".